الأزهر


 
Courtyard of Al-Azhar, Amirali Mamdani Collection, IIS الأزهر المتوضع في القاهرة واحد من أقدم مجمعات الجوامع (مسجداً وجامعة) في العالم الإسلامي. وكانت السلالة الإسماعيلية الفاطمية الحاكمة قد أسسته، حيث كان الإمام الخليفة المنتمي إلى تلك السلالة المعز لدين الله، قد أنشأ القاهرة عاصمة له خلال الأعوام 969 – 973م. وأطلقت هذه التسمية على المجمع تذكرة بلقب الزهراء المرتبط بفاطمة، بنت النبي وزوجة علي أول إمام شيعي، والتي يعلن الفاطميون أنهم ينحدرون منها مباشرة.

ومع أنه استخدم بداية كمسجد جامع لإقامة صلوات الجمعة، إلا أنه سرعان ما تحول إلى مقر علمي. واستمر يمارس هذا الدور طيلة التاريخ الإسلامي حيث حقق اعترافاً بأنه المركز الأسبق للعلم الشيعي الإسماعيلي أولاً ثم، وبعد القرن الثاني عشر الميلادي، كمعهداً رئيسيٍ للتعليم السني.


لقد تحول إبان الفترة الفاطمية إلى مركز للتعليم العالي ورصدت له أوقاف ثرية من أجل توفير الدعم للطلاب والمعلمين ولواحدة من أكبر مكتبات العالم الإسلامي في ذلك الوقت. كان منهاج التعليم متنوعاً، وخصصت مجالس تعليمية للنساء من بين المجالس المقدمة تناولت موضوعات شملت الدراسات الفقهية والقرآنية، كما كُرّست مجالس خاصة لعلوم التأويل المتقدمة والتفاسير الدينية في السياقات الفكرية الإسماعيلية.


وبعد فترة من الإهمال في ظل الأيوبيين الذين حلّوا محل الفاطميين وحكموا مصر من 1171 إلى 1252، عادت الحياة إلى الأزهر على أيدي المماليك السنة (1252 – 1517) وأصبح مركزاً للتعليم القرآني والفقه الشافعي. وصارت الموضوعات المرتبطة تقليدياً بالمدارس السنية لتلك الفترة هي الطاغية، مع أن الأزهر بقي منفتحاً على المؤثرات الخارجية، بما في ذلك الصوفية. وواصل الأزهر إبان الفترة العثمانية (1517 – 1805م) كونه مركزاً رئيساً يجتذب العلماء السنة والطلبة الدارسين من شتى أنحاء العالم الإسلامي وبقيت علوم الدين والفقه هي الموضوعات الأساسية للدراسة والبحث.


ومع نهاية الحكم العثماني وحلول النفوذ والاحتلال الأوروبي بدأ دور الأزهر يتغير. فتحول في ظل الاحتلال الفرنسي إلى مقر للمقاومة وتعرض للقصف من قبل الجيش الفرنسي. ومع صعود محمد علي إلى السلطة عام 1811م وتطبيقه لسياسات السيطرة المركزية على الدولة، أُجبر الأزهر على قبول تغييرات تتعلق باستقلاله الذاتي التقليدي، واستجاب بإحداث تغييرات داخلية في بنيته التنظيمية واحتياجاته والأحكام الناظمة لعمله. كما طور الأزهر شبكة من المدارس الإعدادية على مستوى مصر بكاملها، وهي التي أصبحت مصدراً للطلبة الدارسين فيه إضافة إلى نشرها لنفوذه في مجال التعليم الديني في الدولة.


أصبح الأزهر إبان القسم الأول من القرن العشرين موئلاً لوجهات النظر الإصلاحية للإسلام ولاسيما في ظل تأثير محمد عبده (1849 – 1905) الذي كان يدرّس هناك. ومع أن بعض آرائه لم تلق قبولاً، إلا أن تغييراً كان قد بدأ يأخذ مكانه في المناخ الفكري هناك. ومُنح الأزهر إبان ثلاثينيات القرن العشرين مرتبة الجامعة وأُعيد تنظيمه في صورة وحدات أكاديمية. فبدأ بإصدار مجلة، وإضافة مقررات جديدة إلى مناهجه، وتأسيس كليات للنساء. وتوسع نفوذه في العالم الإسلامي السني الخارجي، وتلقى الكثير من القيادات الدينية العالمية اللاحقة والمعلمين تدريبهم فيه. وإبان تسعينيات القرن العشرين، وُجد حوالي ستة آلاف طالب أجنبي مسجلين في الأزهر جاؤوا من 75 بلداً. وقد اتخذت هذه المؤسسة من وقت لآخر مواقف مثيرة للجدل حول قضايا تتعلق بالمسلمين والمجتمعات الإسلامية، وقضايا ذات صلة بالشؤون الدولية. ومع نشأة مؤسسات ومراكز دينية أخرى للتعليم الإسلامي في الشرق الأوسط والعالم الإسلامي، فقد الأزهر من أفضل أعضاء هيئته التدريسية لصالح هذه المؤسسات. ويواصل الأزهر، بدخوله مؤخراً في عالم الانترنيت دوره المؤثر كمكان للتعليم وقائد للرأي في القضايا والشؤون الإسلامية في بيئة تخضع للعولمة أكثر فأكثر.


لزيادة الإطلاع


دودج، ب. الأزهر. ألف سنة من التعليم الإسلامي (واشنطن، 1961)


هالم، هاينز. الفاطميون وتقاليدهم في التعليم (لندن، 1997) الترجمة العربية، سيف الدين القصير (دمشق، 1999)


 

نشرت هذه المقالة أصلاً في موسوعة الحضارة الإسلامية في العصر الوسيط، مجلد1، ص 84-85، للمحرر جوزيف و. ميري، روتلدج (نيويورك – لندن، ۲۰۰۶).

الأزهر هو مؤسسة إسلامية للتعليم العالي ذات شهرة عالمية عرفت عبر تاريخها الطويل كمركز للبحث والدراسة. وقد تأسس هذا المركز، الذي ابتدأ كجامع ثم ما لبث أن ضم جامعة درّست العلوم والفلسفة وعلوم الدين، على يدي الإمام – الخليفة الفاطمي المعز لدين الله بعد فتحه لمصر عام 358 هـ/ 979 م....

Encyclopaedia Articles

Al-Azhar

Courtyard of Al-Azhar, Amirali Mamdani Collection, IIS
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Located in Cairo, Al-Azharinfo-icon is one of the earliest Jami‘ (mosque/ university) complexes in the Muslim world. It was founded by the Fatimid Ismaili dynasty; the dynasty’s Caliphinfo-icon, Imaminfo-icon Mu‘izz li-Dininfo-icon Allah, estab­lished Cairo as his capital in 969-973 CE. The com­plex is so named in memory of the title al-Zahra (‘the luminous’), which is associated with Fatimainfo-icon, the daughter of the Prophet and the wife of the first Shi‘ainfo-icon Imam, ‘Ali, from whom the Fatimidsinfo-icon claimed direct descent.

Although it served initially as a congregational mosque for Friday prayers, it soon developed into a seat of learning. It has continued to exercise this role throughout Muslim history, attaining recognition first as the foremost center for Shi‘i Isma‘ili learning and then, after the   twelfth century CE, as a major Sunni educational institution.

During the Fatimid period, it developed into a center for higher learning and was richly endowed to support students, teachers, and one of   the largest libraries of the time in the Muslim world. The curriculum was diverse; among the sessions offered were dedicated classes for l women on topics including law and Qur’anic studies, and there were special ses­sions devoted to advanced hermeneutics and religious interpretations in Isma‘ili intellectual contexts.

After a period of neglect under the Ayyubidsinfo-icon, who supplanted the Fatimids and ruled Egypt from 1171 to 1252 CE, Al-Azhar was revived by the Sunni Mamluks (1252-1517 CE) and became a center of Qur’anic teaching and Shafi‘iinfo-icon jurisprudence. The subjects traditionally associated with the Sunni madrasas of the time came to predominate, although Al-Azhar remained open to influences, including Sufisminfo-icon. During the Ottoman pe­riod (1517-1805 CE), Al-Azhar continued to be a major center, attracting Sunni ‘ulamainfo-icon and students from across the Muslim world. Theology and law remained the main foci of study and research.

With the end of Ottoman rule and the onset of European occupation and influence, Al-Azhar’s role began to change. Under French occupation, it became a seat of resistence and was bombarded by the French army. With the rise to power of Muhammad Ali in 1811 and his policies of centralised state control, Al-Azhar was forced to accept changes to its tradi­tional autonomy, and it responded by bringing about internal changes in its organisation, requirements, and regulations. It also developed a network of preparatory schools all over Egypt from which it could recruit students as well as extend its influence on religious education in the state.

During the early part of the twentieth century, Al-­Azhar became the locus for reformist views on Islam, mainly under the influence of Muhammad ‘Abduh (1849-1905), who taught there. Although some of his views did not gain acceptance, a change in the intellectual climate had begun to take hold. During the 1930s, Al-Azhar was granted university status and reorganised into academic units. It started to publish a journal, added new disciplines to its curriculum, and established women’s colleges. Its influence in the wider Sunni Muslim world expanded, and many fu­ture international religious leaders and teachers received their training there. During the 1990s, there were approximately six thousand international stu­dents enrolled at Al-Azhar, and they represented seventy-five countries. From time to time, the institu­tion has taken controversial positions on issues that affect Muslims and Muslim societies, as well as on international affairs. With the rise of other religious institutions and centres of Muslim learning in the Middle East and the Sunni world, Al-Azhar lost many of its best faculty members to these institutions. Having recently entered the world of the Internet, Al­-Azhar continues its influential role as a place of learning and leader of opinion on Muslim issues and affairs in a more globalised environment.

Further Reading

Dodge, B. Al-Azhar. A Millennium of Muslim Learning. Washington: Middle East Institute, 1961.

Halm, Heinz. The Fatimids and their Traditions of Learning. London: The Institute of Ismaili Studies and I.B. Tauris. 1997.

This is an edited version of an article that appeared in Medieval Islamic Civilization, An Encyclopaedia, Vol. I, p. 84-85, ed. Josef W. Meri published by Routledge New York-London in 2006.