الإسماعيليون


مصطلحات رئيسية


دور الستر، الفاطميين، المباركية، المهدية، التقية، القرامطة، الداعي، الظاهر، الباطن، الإسماعيلي الحافظي، الإسماعيلي الطيبي، الإسماعيلي النزاري، حسن بن الصباح، آلموت، آغاخان.


قائمة المحتويات



التاريخ الإسماعيلي المبكر


في سنة 148 للهجرة الموافق ل765 للميلاد وعلى إثر وفاة الإمام جعفر الصادق الذي قام بتوحيد الشيعة الإماميين، إعترفت الغالبية من أتباعه بابنه موسى الكاظم إماماً جديداً لهم. وعلى كل حال، أقرت مجموعات أخرى من الشيعة الإماميين بإمامة الأخ الأكبر غير الشقيق لموسى، إسماعيل، الإسماعيلية أو ابن إسماعيل محمد. هناك معلومات قليلة حول حياة ومسيرة محمد بن إسماعيل الذي توارى عن الأنظار معلناً بذلك بداية دور الستر في التاريخ الإسماعيلي المبكر والذي دام حتى تأسيس الدولة الفاطمية، عندما ظهر الأئمة الإسماعيليون علانية بصفتهم خلفاء فاطميين.


على إثر وفاة محمد بن إسماعيل حوالي 179 هـ/795 م، انقسم أتباعه الذين كانوا يعرفرفون باسم المباركية إلى مجموعتين. فالغالبية رفضت الاعتراف بوفاته واعتبرته الإمام السابع والأخير وانتظرت عودته باسم المهدي، محقق العدالة والإسلام الصحيح. وأقرت فئة أخرى وهي فئة صغيرة بوفاة محمد وتبعت الإمامة في ذريته. لا يعرف تقريباً شيء عن التاريخ اللاحق لتلك الجماعات الإسماعيلية المبكرة حتى وقت قصير بعد منتصف القرن الثالث الهجري/ التاسع الميلادي.


من المؤكد أنه لمدة قرن تقريباً بعد محمد بن اسماعيل، قامت مجموعة من ذريته بالعمل سراً على تشكيل حركة ثورية والتي كان هدفها تنصيب الإمام الإسماعيلي الذي ينتمي إلى أسرة النبي محمد (أهل البيت) خليفة يحكم المجتمع الإسلامي برمته؛ حيث قامت شبكة من الدعاة بنشر رسالة الحركة. وللهروب من اضطهاد العباسيين فقد أخفى هؤلاء القادة هوياتهم الحقيقية وذلك من خلال ممارستهم للتقية أو التخفي الاحتياطي. لقد نظم عبد الله وهو أول هؤلاء القادة دعوته حول عقيدة الغالبية من الإسماعيليين الأوائل، أي مهدية محمد بن إسماعيل. لقد استقر عبد الله بالفعل في سلمية، وسط سورية، التي كانت المقر السري للدعوة الإسماعيلية لفترة من الزمن. ولقد أثمرت جهود عبد الله وخلفاءه حوالي العام 260 للهجرة/ 870 للميلاد عندما ظهر عدد من الدعاة في جنوب العراق وفي المناطق المجاورة تحت قيادة حمدان قرمط ومساعده الرئيسي عبدان. لقد أصبح الإسماعيليون الآن يشيرون إلى نشاطاتهم على أنها ببساطة الدعوة أو الدعوة الهادية. وفي الحال ظهرت الدعوة الإسماعيلية في عدد من المناطق الأخرى أبرزها اليمن حيث كان ابن حوشب منصور اليمن الداعي الأساس(المتوفى سنة 302 هـ/ 914 م) كذلك مصر والبحرين وبلاد فارس وترانسكسيانا والسند بالإضافة إلى مناطق أبعد في شمال إفريقية.


الفترة الفاطمية حتى العام 487 هـ/ 1094 م


في بداية العقد التاسع من القرن الثالث للهجرة/ العقد الأخير من القرن التاسع الميلادي، حل مجتمع إسماعيلي موحد محل الجماعات المنشقة الأولى. على كل حال، ففي العام 286 هـ/899 م مباشرة بعد تولي عبد الله المهدي الخليفة الفاطمي المستقبلي للقيادة في سلمية، مزق الإسماعيلية إنشقاق رئيسي. حيث أعلن عبد الله نفسه إماماً للإسماعيليين صراحة هو وأسلافه الذين نظموا الدعوة الإسماعيلية المبكرة موضحين الأشكال المختلفة للأقنعة التي تبناها القادة الإسماعيليون المركزيون الأوائل الذين كانوا يفضلون ادعاء مرتبة الحجة ( البرهان أو الممثل المطلق) للإمام المستور محمد بن إسماعيل. لقد أدى الإصلاح العقائدي الذي قام به عبد الله المهدي إلى إنقسام الحركة الإسماعيلية إلى قسمين متخاصمين. قسم موالٍ يشمل بشكل رئيسي إسماعيليي اليمن ومصر وشمال إفريقية والسند أقر بإستمرارية الإمامة معترفين بعبد الله وأسلافه العلويين أئمة لهم. ومن جهة أخرى حافظ قسم مناهض بقيادة حمدان قرمط على معتقده الأصلي بمهدية محمد بن إسماعيل. من هنا أتت كلمة قرمطي لتدل تحديداً على المناهضين الذين لم يعترفوا بعبد الله المهدي بالإضافة إلى أسلافه وخلفاءه في الخلافة الفاطمية أئمة لهم. لقد استولى القرامطة المناهضون على المعقل الأكثر أهمية في دولة البحرين القرمطية الذي شيده الداعي أبو سعيد الجنابي في العام 286 هـ/ 899 م. وفي واقع الأمر فقد انهارت الدولة القرمطية في العام 470 هـ/ 1077 م.


لقد طور الإسماعيليون الأوائل نظاماً معرفياً مميزاً للفكر الديني الذي تطور أكثر أو تم تعديله في الفترة الفاطمية. إن الشئ الأساسي في هذا النظام هو التمييز الجوهري بين الجانب الظاهري والباطني للكتب السماوية بالإضافة إلى الوصايا والمحرمات الدينية. لقد اعتقدوا أن الشرائع الدينية التي تمثل ظاهر الدين والتي أعلنها الأنبياء خضعت لتغيرات مرحلية بينما بقي الباطن الذي يحتوي الحقائق الروحية ثابتاً دون تغيير. لقد تم تفسير هذه الحقائق التي تشكل النظام المعرفي للفكر من خلال التأويل، التفسير الباطني، الذي أصبح السمة المميزة للفكر الإسماعيلي. إن العنصرين الرئسيين في هذا النظام كانا التاريخ الدوري للكشف والعقيدة الكونية.


لقد تجلى النجاح الأول للحركة الإسماعيلية في تأسيس الخلافة الفاطمية في شمال إفريقية حيث قام الداعي أبو عبد الله الشيعي ( المتوفى عام 298 هـ/ 911 م) بنشر الدعوة وسط بربر المغرب. لقد أطلق اسم الفاطميين على الأسرة الحاكمة الجديدة التي تأسست في العام 297 هـ/909 م وذلك نسبة إلى فاطمة ابنة النبي محمد والتي ينتسب إليها الخلفاء من سلالة علي. لقد حكم عبد الله المهدي، حكم الخليفة الإمام الفاطمي الأول (المتوفى عام 322 هـ/934 م) وخلفاؤه دولة مهمة سرعان ما أصبحت إمبراطورية تمتد أرجاؤها من شمال إفريقية إلى مصر وفلسطين وسورية. وفي العهد الفاطمي بلغ الفكر والأدب الإسماعيليان بالإضافة إلى نشاطات الدعوة الذروة وقدم الإسماعيليون إسهامات مهمة في الحضارة الإسلامية وبخاصة بعد انتقال مركز الخلافة الفاطمية إلى القاهرة التي أسسها ذاتها الفاطميون عام 358 هـ/ 969 م.


ومع ذلك حققت الدعوة الإسماعيلية في الفترة الفاطمية أعظم نجاحاتها خارج نطاق سيطرة الفاطميين وبخاصة في اليمن، حيث حكم الإسماعيليون الصليحيون بصفتهم تابعين للفاطميين وكذلك في بلاد فارس وآسيا الوسطى. كما قام الدعاة في الأراضي الإيرانية أمثال أبي يعقوب السجستاني وحميد الدين الكرماني وناصر خسرو بتطوير أنظمة فكرية في ما وراء الطبيعة معقدة وعلم فلك فيضي متميز. لقد انصب اهتمام الدعوة الفاطمية بشكل خاص على تثقيف المعتنقين الجدد للعقيدة الإسماعيلية، بما يعرف بالحكمة ونظمت بهذا الغرض محاضرات متنوعة مخصصة بشكل عام كمجالس للحكمة. لقد جمع الفقه الإسماعيلي بشكل رئيسي من خلال الجهود التي بذلها القاضي النعمان ( المتوفى عام 363 هـ/974 م) القاضي الأبرز في العهد الفاطمي. لقد أولى الفقه الإسماعيلي أهمية خاصة للعقيدة الشيعية للإمامة.


لقد شهد الإسماعيليون انقساماً رئيسياً في العام 487 هـ/1094 م وذلك عقب وفاة الخليفة الإمام المستنصر بالله الخليفة الفاطمي الثامن والإمام الإسماعيلي الثامن عشر. فقد كانت خلافة الإمام المستنصر بالله موضع نزاع بين ولديه نزار، الوريث الشرعي المعين ، والمستعلي الذي نصبه كخليفة فاطمي الوزير المتنفذ الأفضل. ونتج عن ذلك انقسام الدعوة والمجتمع الإسماعيلي الموحد إلى فرعين متخاصمين عرفا لاحقاً باسم النزارية والمستعلية. لقد أقر تنظيم الدعوة بالإضافة إلى الجماعات الإسماعيلية في كل من مصر واليمن والهند الغربية بالمستعلي كخليفة لأبيه في الإمامة. ومن جهةأخرى، فقد أيد الإسماعيليون في بلاد فارس والمناطق المجاورة حق الإمام نزار في الولاية واعترفت به إماماً. وقد ثار الإمام نزار نفسه ضد المستعلي ( المتوفى عام 495 هـ/1101 م) لكنه هزم وقتل عام 488 هـ/1095 م. ومنذ ذلك الحين انتقلت الإمامةالإسماعيلية عبر خطين متوازيين عبر ذرية الخليفة الإمام المستنصر.


الإسماعيليون المستعليون


لقد انقسم الإسماعيليون المستعليون إلى فرعين الحافظي والطيبي وذلك عقب وفاة الآمر بن المستعلي وخليفته عام 524 هـ/1130 م. وقد اعترف مقر الدعوة المستعلية في القاهرة بإمامة الحافظ ابن عم الآمر وخليفته إلى العرش الفاطمي. ونتيجة لذلك فقد اعترف الإسماعيليون المستعليون في كل من مصر وسور ية وقسم من مستعليي اليمن بإمامته. وقد أصبح هؤلاء الإسماعيليون الذين اعترفوا بالحافظ (المتوفى عام 544 هـ/1149 م) وخلفائه الفاطميين اللاحقين أئمة لهم أصبحوا يعرفون بالحافظيين. أما الإسماعيليون المستعليون في الدولة الصليحية في اليمن وكذلك في كوجرات فقد أقروا بامامة الطيب ابن الآمر وأصبحوا يعرفون باسم الطيبيين. لقد اختفت الإسماعيلية الحافظية تماماً إثر إنهيار السلالة الفاطمية عام 567 هـ/1171 م. ومنذ ذلك الحين استمرت الإسماعيلية المستعلية فقط بفرعها الطيبي في المعاقل المنبعة في اليمن.


يعتقد الطيبيون بأن أئمتهم مايزالون في الستر منذ زمن الطيب نفسه الذي اختفى في ظروف غامضة. وفي ظل غياب أئمتهم فإن شؤون الدعوة والجماعة الطيبيية عهدت إلى الدعاة المطلقين مع صلاحيات مطلقة. وفي المجال العقائدي، فقد حافظ الطيبيون على التقاليد الفاطمية واحتفظوا بجزء كبير من النصوص الإسماعيلية التي تعود إلى العهد الفاطمي. لقد طوروا نظاماً باطنياً للفكر الديني ومواضيعه الأخروية المتميزة معتمدين بشكل خاص على النظام الميتافيزيقي لحميد الدين الكرماني. لقد انتشرت الدعوة الطيبية بنجحاح في منطقة حراز في اليمن وفي كوجرات أيضاً. وفي نهاية القرن العاشر الهجري/ السادس عشر الميلادي انقسم الإسماعيليون الطيبيون إلى فرعين الداوودي والسليماني إثر الإختلاف على خلافة الداعي المطلق السادس والعشرين داوود بن عجب شاه ( المتوفى 997 هـ/ 1589 م) ومنذ ذلك الوقت فاق عدد الطيبيين في الهند الذين يعرفون محلياً باسم البهرة عدد إخوانهم في اليمن. ومنذ ذلك الحين، اتبع الطيبيون الداووديون والسليمانيون الذين يتركزون في جنوب آسيا واليمن على التوالي اتبعوا خطين مختلفين من الدعاة. لقد انقسم البهرة الداووديون إلى عدد من المجموعات يبلغ تعداد أكبرها حوالي ثمانمئة ألف. وتمثل بومباي منذ عشرينيات القرن الماضي المقر الإداري الدائم للدعاة الداووديين المطلقين. واستمرت القيادة عند الطيبيين السليمانيين متوارثة في عائلة مكرمي حيث يقع مقرهم في نجران شمال شرق اليمن. ويبلغ عدد الطيبيين السليمانيين في الوقت الحالي حوالي السبعين ألفاً في اليمن إضافة إلى بضعة آلاف في الهند.


الإسماعيليون النزاريون


في عهد الخليفة الإمام المستنصر، خلف الداعي حسن الصباح عبد الملك بن عطاش في قيادة الدعوة الإسماعيلية في المناطق الخاضعة للنفوذ السلجوقي في بلاد فارس. وقد كان استيلاؤه على قلعة ألموت عام 483هـ/ 1090 م في الحقيقة السمة المميزة للتأسيس الفعال لما أصبح الدولة الإسماعيلية النزارية في إيران والفرع التابع لها في سورية.


وفي النزاع الذي نشب على خلافة الإمام المستنصر بالله، أيد حسن حق الإمام نزار وقطع علاقاته مع مقر الدعوة في القاهرة. وبقراره هذا، فقد أسس حسن الصباح أيضاً الدعوة النزارية بشكل مستقل عن الحكم الفاطمي. لقد حقق النزاريون تميزاً سياسياً تحت قيادة حسن الصباح (المتوفى 518 هـ/ 1124 م) وخلفائه السبعة في آلموت. لم ينجح التمرد الذي قاده حسن بن الصباح ضد السلاجقة الأتراك الذين كان حكمهم الأجنبي محط سخط الفارسيين، وبالرغم من تفوق السلاجقة العسكري فشلهم في تدمير مجتمعات القلاع النزارية. ونتيجة لذلك فقد نشأت حالة من الركود بين النزاريين وأعدائهم المتعددين حتى سقوط دولتهم في بلاد فارس بيد المغول عام 654 هـ/1256 م. أما النزاريون في سوريا، فقد كان لهم العديد من المواجهات مع الصليبيين وبلغوا أوج شهرتهم تحت قيادة الداعي سنان راشد الدين ( المتوفى عام 589 هـ/1193 م) لكنهم في واقع الأمر خضعوا للمماليك. لقد طور النزاريون تعاليمهم الخاصة التي تدور بالأساس حول عقيدة التعليم الشيعية أو الهداية الموثقة لإمام الزمان. لقد ظهر الأئمة النزاريون علانية في آلموت عام 559هـ/1164م بعد أن ظلوا في الستر منذ عهد الإمام نزار.


لقد نجا الإسماعيليون من التدمير الذي ألحقه المغول بدولتهم رغم افتقادهم للتنظيم أو أية قيادة مركزية. ولمدة قرنين من الزمن، نشأ العديد من المجتمعات النزارية بشكل مستقل بينما كان الوصول للأئمة مستحيلاً متخذين غطاءً سنياً وصوفياً لحماية أنفسهم من الظلم. لقد ظهر الأئمة النزاريون في منتصف القرن التاسع الهجري/ الخامس عشر ميلادي في قرية أنجودان في وسط إيران مستهلين بإحياء الدعوة والنشاطات الأدبية لمجتمعهم. لقد لاقت الدعوة النزارية النجاح بشكل خاص في آسيا الوسطى والهند حيث عرف الكثير من المعتنقين الجدد باسم الخوجة. لقد طور النزاريون الخوجة تقليداً دينياً محلياً عرف باسم "الصراط المستقيم" بالإضافة إلى أدب ديني يدعى الجنان. ومع ظهور الصفويين الذين اتخذوا المذهب الشيعي الاثني عشري ديناً رسمياً لدولتهم عام 907 هـ/1501 م، قام النزاريون في إيران بممارسة التقية كاثني عشريين. لقد احتفظ النزاريون في بدخشان، والتي هي الآن منطقة مقسمة بين طاجيكستان وأفغانستان، احتفظوا بالكثير من النصوص الإسماعيلية الفارسية من آلموت والفترات اللاحقة. لقد كان النزاريون الخوجة، إلى جانب البهرة الطيبيين، من أوائل الجماعات الآسيوية التي استقرت في في شرق إفريقيا خلال القرن التاسع عشر. وفي سبعينيات القرن العشرين، أجبر القسم الأكبر من إسماعيليي شرق إفريقيا على الهجرة إلى الغرب. لقد ظهر الإسماعيليون النزاريون تحت قيادة الإمامين الأخيرين، سلطان محمد شاه آغا خان الثالث (1885-1957) وحفيده الأمير كريم آغاخان الرابع، الإمام الحالي التاسع والأربعين، ظهروا كأقلية مسلمة متطورة بكيان وتعليم عاليي المستوى. يبلغ عدد الإسماعيلين عدة ملايين وهم منتشرون في أكثر من خمس وعشرون بلداً في آسيا والشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا وأوروبة وأمريكا الشمالية.

 

Further Reading

Corbin, Henry. Cyclical Time and Ismaili Gnosis. Translated by R. Manheim and J.W. Morris. London, 1983.


Daftary, F. The Ismailis: Their History and Doctrines. Cambridge, 1990 (with full references to the sources).


— — A Short History of the Ismailis. Edinburgh, 1998.


— — Ismaili Literature: A Bibliography of Sources and Studies. London, 2004.


Halm, Heinz. The Fatimids and Their Traditions of Learning. London, 1997.


Hodgson, Marshall G.S. The Order of Assassins. The Hague, 1955.


Madelung, Wilferd. “Das Imamatinfo-icon in der fruhen ismaili­tischen Lehre.” Der Islam, 37(1961): 43-135.


Walker, Paul E. Early Philosophical Shi‘isminfo-icon. The Ismaili Neoplatonism of Abu Ya‘qub a!-Sijistani. Cambridge, 1993.



Top of Page

إن هذه النسخة محققة لمقالة نشر بالأصل في الحضارة الإسلامية في العصر الوسيط: موسوعة، المجلد I. ص 403-406، تحقيق جوزيف وميري روتلدج نيويورك – لندن 2006)

للإسماعيليين تاريخ حافل مهم ثاني أهم جماعة شيعية بعد الاثني عشرية. لقد انقسم...

Encyclopaedia Articles

Ismailis

 
KeyWords
 
Dawr al-satrinfo-icon, Fatimid, Mubarakiyyainfo-icon, Mahdiinfo-icon, Taqiyyainfo-icon, Qarmati, Da‘iinfo-icon, Zahirinfo-icon, Batininfo-icon, Hafiziinfo-icon Ismaili, Tayyibi Ismaili, Nizari Ismaili, Hasan-i Sabbah, Alamutinfo-icon, Aga Khaninfo-icon
 
Table of Contents

Early Ismaili History

In 148 AH/765 CE, on the death of Imaminfo-icon Ja‘far al-Sadiq, who had consolidated Imami Shiism, the majority of his fol­lowers recognised his son Musa al-Kazim as their new imam. However, other Imami Shi‘i groups acknowl­edged the imamate of Musa’s older half-brother, Isma‘il, the eponym of the Ismalliyya, or Isma‘il’s son Muhammad. Little is known about the life and career of Muhammad ibn Isma‘il, who went into hid­ing, marking the initiation of the dawr al-satr, or peri­od of concealment, in early Ismaili history which lasted until the foundation of the Fatimid state when the Ismaili imams emerged openly as Fatimid caliphs.

On the death of Muhammad ibn Isma‘il, not long after 179 AH/795 CE, his followers, who were at the time evidently known as Mubarakiyya, split into two groups. A majority refused to accept his death; they recognised him as their seventh and last imam and awaited his return as the Mahdi, the restorer of jus­tice and true Islam. A second, smaller group acknowl­edged Muhammad’s death and traced the imamateinfo-icon in his progeny. Almost nothing is known about the subsequent history of these earliest Ismaili groups until shortly after the middle of the third AH/ninth century CE.

It is certain that for almost a century after Muham­mad ibn Ismail, a group of his descendants worked secretly for the creation of a revolutionary movement, the aim of which was to install the Ismaili imam belonging to the Prophet Muhammad’s family (ahl al-baytinfo-icon) to a new caliphateinfo-icon ruling over the entire Muslim commu­nity; and the message of the movement was disseminated by a network of da‘is (summoners). Observing taqiyya, or precautionary dissimulation, these central leaders concealed their true identities in order to escape ‘Abbasid persecution. ‘Abdullah, the first of these leaders, had organised his da‘wainfo-icon (mission) around the doctrine of the majority of the earliest Ismailis, namely, the Mahdiship of Muhammad ibn Ismail. ‘Abdullah eventually settled in Salamiyyainfo-icon, central Syria, which served as the secret headquarters of the Ismaili da‘wa for some time. The efforts of ‘Abdullah and his successors bore results in the 260s AH/870s CE, when numerous da‘is appeared in southern Iraq and adja­cent regions under the leadership of Hamdan Qarmat and his chief assistant ‘Abdan. The Ismailis now re­ferred to their activities simply as al-da‘wa, the mis­sion, or al-da‘wa al-hadiyainfo-icon, the rightly guiding mission. Soon, the Ismaili da‘wa appeared in numer­ous other regions, notably Yemen, where Ibn Haw­shab Mansur al-Yemen (d. 302 AH/914 CE) acted as the chief da‘i, Egypt, Bahrayn, Persia, Transoxiana, and Sindinfo-icon, as well as remoter regions in North Africa.

Fatimid Period until 487 AH/1094 CE

By the early 280s AH/890s CE, a unified Ismaili community had replaced the earlier splinter groups. Howev­er, in 286 AH/899 CE, soon after ‘Abdullah al-Mahdi, the future Fatimid caliphinfo-icon, had succeeded to leadership in Salamiyya, Ismailism was rent by a major schism. Abdullah claimed the Ismaili imamate openly for himself and his ancestors who had organised the early Ismaili da‘wa, also explaining the various forms of guises adopted by the earlier central Ismaili leaders who had preferred to assume the rank of hujjainfo-icon (proof or full representative) of the hidden Imam Muhammad ibn Ismail. The doctrinal reform of ‘Abdullah al-Mahdi split the Ismaili movement into two rival factions. A loyalist faction, comprised main­ly of the Ismailis of Yemen, Egypt, North Africa, and Sind, did recognise continuity in the imamate, acknowledging ‘Abdullah and his ‘Alid ancestors as their imams. On the other hand, a dissident faction, originally led by Hamdan Qarmat, retained their orig­inal belief in the Mahdiship of Muhammad ibn Isma‘il. Henceforth, the term Qarmati came to be applied specifically to the dissidents who did not ac­knowledge ‘Abdullah al-Mahdi, as well as his prede­cessors and successors to the Fatimid caliphate, as their imams. The dissident Qarmatisinfo-icon acquired their most important stronghold in the Qarmati state of Bahrayn, founded in 286 AH/899 CE by the da‘i Abu Sa‘id al-Jannabi. The Qarmati state of Bahrayn eventually collapsed in 470 AH/1077 CE.

The early Ismailis elaborated a distinctive gnostic system of religious thought, which was further devel­oped or modified in the Fatimid period. Central to this system was a fundamental distinction between the exoteric (zahir) and esoteric (batin) aspects of the sacred scriptures, as well as religious command­ments and prohibitions. They further held that the religious laws, representing the zahir of religion, enun­ciated by prophets, underwent periodical changes while the batin, containing the spiritual truths (haqa’iqinfo-icon) remained immutable and unchanged. These truths, forming a gnostic system of thought, were explained through ta’wilinfo-icon, esoteric exegesis, which became the hallmark of Ismaili thought. The two main components of this system were a cyclical history of revelations and a cosmological doctrine.

The early success of the Ismaili movement culmi­nated in the foundation of the Fatimid caliphate in North Africa, where the da‘i Abu ‘Abdullah al-Shi‘i (d. 298 AH/911 CE) had spread the da‘wa among the Berbers of the Maghribinfo-icon. The new dynasty, established in 297 AH/909 CE, was named Fatimid (Fatimiyyun) after the Prophet Muhammad’s daughter Fatimainfo-icon, to whom the Fatimid caliphs traced their ‘Alid ancestry. ‘Abdullah al­-Mahdi (d. 322 AH/934 CE), the first Fatimid caliph–imam, and his successors ruled over an important state that soon grew into an empire stretching from North Africa to Egypt, Palestine, and Syria. During the Fatimid period, Ismaili thought and literature as well as da‘wa activities attained their summit and Ismailis made important contributions to Islamic civilisation, especially after the seat of the Fatimid caliphate was transferred to Cairo, itself founded in 358 AH/969 CE by the Fatimidsinfo-icon.

The Ismaili da‘wa of the Fatimid times achieved its greatest successes, however, outside the Fatimid dominions, especially in Yemen, where the Ismaili Sulayhidsinfo-icon ruled as vassals of the Fatimids, Persia, and Central Asia. The da‘is of the Iranian lands, such as Abu Ya‘qub al-Sijistani, Hamid al-Dininfo-icon al­-Kirmani, and Nasir Khusraw, also elaborated com­plex metaphysical systems of thought with a distinct emanational cosmology. The Fatimid da‘wa was par­ticularly concerned with educating the new converts in Ismaili doctrine, known as the hikmainfo-icon (wisdom); and a variety of lectures, generally designated as ses­sions of wisdom (majalisinfo-icon al-hikma), were organised for this purpose. Ismaili law was also codified mainly through the efforts of al-Qadiinfo-icon al-Nu‘man (d. 363 AH/ 974 CE), the foremost jurist of the Fatimid period. Ismaili law accorded special importance to the Shi‘i doctrine of the imamate.

The Ismailis experienced a major schism in 487 AH/1094 CE, on the death of Imam-caliph al-Mustansir, the eighth Fatimid caliph and the eighteenth Ismaili imam. Imam al-­Mustansir’s succession was disputed by his sons­ Nizar, the original heir designate, and al-Must‘ali, who was installed to the Fatimid caliphate by the all-powerful vizierinfo-icon al-Afdal. As a result, the unified Ismaili da‘wa and community were split into rival branches, designated later as Nizari and Must‘ali (or Musta‘­lawi). The da‘wa organisation in Cairo, as well as the Ismaili communities of Egypt, Yemen, and western India, also recognised al-Must‘ali as his father’s suc­cessor to the imamate. On the other hand, the Ismailis of Persia and adjacent lands supported the succession right of Imam Nizar and recognised his imamate. Imam Nizar him­self revolted against al-Must‘ali (d. 495 AH/1101 CE), but he was defeated and killed in 488 AH/1095 CE. Henceforth, the Ismaili imamate was handed down in two parallel lines among the descendants of Imam-caliph al-Mustansir.

Musta‘li Ismailis

On the death of al-Musta‘li’s son and successor al-Amirinfo-icon in 524 AH/1130 CE, the Must‘ali Ismailis split into Hafizi and Tayyibi branches. The Must‘ali da‘wa headquarters in Cairo endorsed the imamate of al-Amir’s cousin and successor to the Fatimid throne, al-Hafiz. As a result, his imamate was also acknowledged by the Must‘ali Ismailis of Egypt andSyria, as well as a portion of the Must‘alis of Yemen. These Ismailis, who recognised al-Hafiz (d. 544 AH/1149 CE) and the later Fatimid caliphs as their imams, became known as Hafizisinfo-icon. The Must‘ali Ismailis of the Sulay­hid state in Yemen, as well as those of Gujarat, recognised the imamate of al-Amir’s son, al-Tayyib, and they became known as Tayyibisinfo-icon. Hafizi Ismailism disappeared completely soon after the collapse of the Fatimid dynasty in 567 AH/1171 CE. Thereafter, Must‘ali Ismailism survived only in its Tayyibi form with permanent strongholds in Yemen.

The Tayyibis believe that their imams have remained in concealment since the time of al-Tayyib himself, who disappeared under mysterious circumstances. In the absence of their imams, the affairs of the Tayyibi da‘wa and community have been administered by da‘i mutlaqs, that is, supreme da‘is with full authority. In the doc­trinal field, the Tayyibis maintained the Fatimid tra­ditions and preserved a substantial portion of the Ismaili texts of the Fatimid period. Building particu­larly on Hamid al-Din al-Kirmani’s metaphysical system, they elaborated their own esoteric system of religious thought with its distinctive eschatological themes. The Tayyibi da‘wa spread successfully in the Harazinfo-icon region of Yemen, as well as in Gujarat. By the end of the tenth AH/sixteenth century CE, the Tayyibi Ismai­lis split into Da’udi and Sulaymani branches over the question of the succession to their twenty-sixth da‘i mutlaq, Da’ud ibn ‘Ajabshah (d. 997 AH/1589 CE). By that time the Tayyibis of India, known locally as Bohras, greatly outnumbered their Yemeni coreligionists. Henceforth, the Da’udi and Sulaymani Tayyibis, con­centrated in South Asia and Yemen, respectively, followed different lines of da‘is. Da’udi Bohrasinfo-icon have subdivided into several groupings, with the largest numbering around eight hundred thousand. Since the 1920s, Bombay has served as the permanent ad­ministrative seat of the Da’udi da‘i mutlaq. The lead­ership of the Sulaymani Tayyibis has remained hereditary in the Makrami family with their headquar­ters in Najran, in northeastern Yemen. At present the Sulaymani Tayyibis number around seventy thousand in Yemen, with an additional few thousand in India.

Nizari Ismailis

In Imam-caliph al-Mustansir’s time, the da‘i Hasan-i Sabbah succeeded ‘Abd al-Malik ibn ‘Attash as the leader of the Ismaili da‘wa within the Saljuqinfo-icon dominions in Persia. His seizure of the fortress of Alamut in 483 AH/1090 CE had, in fact, marked the effective foundation of what became the Nizari Ismaili state of Persia with a subsidiary in Syria. In Imam-caliph al-Mustansir’s succession dis­pute, Hasan supported Imam Nizar’s cause and severed his relations with the da‘wa headquarters in Cairo. By this decision, Hasan-i Sabbah also founded the Nizari da‘wa independently of the Fatimid regime. The Nizarisinfo-icon acquired political prominence under Hasan-i Sabbah (d. 518 AH/1124 CE) and his seven successors at Alamut. Hasan’s armed revolt against the Saljuq Turks, whose alien rule was detested by the Persians, did not succeed; and the Saljuqs, despite their superior mili­tary power, failed to destroy the Nizari fortress com­munities. In effect, a stalemate developed between the Nizaris and their various enemies until their state in Persia was destroyed by the Mongols in 654 AH/1256 CE. The Nizaris of Syria, who had numerous encounters with the Crusadersinfo-icon and reached the peak of their fame under the da‘i Rashid al-Din al-Sinan (d. 589 AH/1193 CE), were eventually subdued by the Mamluks. The Nizaris elaborated their own teachings, initially revolving around the Shi‘i doctrine of ta‘lim or au­thoritative guidance by the imam of the time. The Nizari imams, who had remained in hiding since Imam Nizar, emerged openly at Alamut in 559 AH/1164 CE.

Disorganised and deprived of any central leader­ship, the Nizari Ismailis survived the Mongol destruc­tion of their state. For about two centuries, while the imams remained inaccessible, various Nizari commu­nities developed independently, also adopting Sunni and Sufi guises to safeguard themselves against perse­cution. By the middle of the ninth AH/fifteenth century CE, the Nizari imams emerged in the village of Anjudan, in central Persia, initiating a revival in the da‘wa and literary activities of their community. The Nizari dawa became particularly successful in Central Asia and India, where many of the Hindu converts were known as Khojasinfo-icon. The Nizari Khojas developed an indigenous religious tradition designated as Satpanth or the “true path”, as well as a devotional literature known as the ginans. With the advent of the Safavidsinfo-icon, who adopted Twelver Shi‘isminfo-icon as the religion of their state in 907 AH/1501 CE, the Nizaris of Persia also practiced taqiyya as Twelversinfo-icon. The Nizaris of Badakhshan, now divided between Tajikistan and Afghanistan, have preserved numerous Persian Ismaili texts of the Alamut and later periods. The Nizari Khojas, together with the Tayyibi Bohras, were among the earliest Asian communities to settle during the nineteenth century in East Africa. In the 1970s, the bulk of the East African Ismailis were obliged to immigrate to the west. Under the leadership of their last two imams, Sultan Muhammad Shahinfo-icon Aga Khan III (1885-1957) and his grandson, Prince Karim Aga Khan IV, the current forty-ninth imam, the Nizari Ismailis have emerged as a progressive Muslim minor­ity with high standards of education and well-being. Numbering several millions, they are scattered in more than twenty-five countries of Asia, the Middle East, Africa, Europe, and North America.

Further Reading

Corbin, Henry. Cyclical Time and Ismaili Gnosis. Translated by R. Manheim and J.W. Morris. London, 1983.

Daftary, F. The Ismailis: Their History and Doctrines. Cambridge, 1990 (with full references to the sources).

— — A Short History of the Ismailis. Edinburgh, 1998.

— — Ismaili Literature: A Bibliography of Sources and Studies. London, 2004.

Halm, Heinz. The Fatimids and Their Traditions of Learning. London, 1997.

Hodgson, Marshall G.S. The Order of Assassins. The Hague, 1955.

Madelung, Wilferd. “Das Imamatinfo-icon in der fruhen ismaili­tischen Lehre.” Der Islam, 37(1961): 43-135.

Walker, Paul E. Early Philosophical Shi‘ism. The Ismaili Neoplatonism of Abu Ya‘qub a!-Sijistani. Cambridge, 1993.

This is an edited version of an article that appeared in Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia, Vol. I, p. 403-406, ed. Josef W. Meri published by Routledge New York-London in 2006.