Department of Graduate Studies Faculty

Faculty

Faculty Position & Institution

Research Interest

Contact Details
Dr Omar Ali-de-Unzaga Deputy Head of Department of Academic Research and Publications, IIS Qur’aninfo-icon; Qur’anic Exegesis; Tafsir oali@iis.ac.uk
Prof. Ali Asani Professor of Indo-Muslim and Islamic Religion and Cultures, Harvard University Indo-Muslim and Islamic Religion and Cultures aliasani@fas.harvard.edu
Dr Stefano Bianca Director, Historic Cities Support Programme, The Aga Khaninfo-icon Trust for Culture Islamic architecture stefano.bianca@akdn.org
Dr Stephen Burge Research Associate, IIS Qur’anic Exegesis; Hadithinfo-icon Studies sburge@iis.ac.uk
Dr Maria de Cillis Research Associate & Shi'i Heritage Series Managing Editor, IIS Islamic Philosophy; Shi’i Studies; Islamic Theology mdecillis@iis.ac.uk
Dr Farhad Daftary Co-Director & Head of Department of Academic Research and Publications, IIS Ismaili History; Shi’i Islam; Shi’i Intellectual History fdaftary@iis.ac.uk
Dr Al-Karim Datoo Research Coordinator, IIS Education adatoo@iis.ac.uk
Prof. Kamal Abu Deeb Emeritus Professor of Arabic and Comparative Literature, SOAS, University of London Arabic Literature  
Dr Aziz Esmail Governor, IIS Philosophy; Religion aesmail@iis.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Fowden Gerda Henkel Stiftung Senior Researcher, University of Cambridge Eastern Mediterranean and West Asia, material cultures and religious transitions, late antiquity to the early modern period ekf31@cam.ac.uk
Prof. Garth Fowden (Cantab) Late Antiquity and Early Islam Sultan Qaboos Professor of Abrahamic Faiths & Senior Research Associate, University of Cambridge The relation of early Islam to the late antique world dominated by Iran and East Rome, and the acculturation of Muslim communities in contemporary Europe garth.fowden@divinity.cam.ac.uk
Dr Laila Halani Head of Department, Graduate Studies, IIS Anthropology; Gender; Ismailis in Modern times, contemporary Islamic movements lhalani@iis.ac.uk
Dr Jan-Peter Hartung Reader, SOAS, University of London Intellectual history of Islam in South Asia and the wider Persianate World Jh74@soas.ac.uk
Dr Shainool Jiwa Head of Constituency Studies Research Unit, IIS Ismaili History and Thought; Fatimidsinfo-icon sjiwa@iis.ac.uk
Dr Carool Kersten Senior Lecturer, King’s College, London Intellectual history of the Muslim world; Political Islam; History of Islam in Southeast Asia; Islam in global and interregional contexts; Theory and Method in the Study of Religions carool.kersten@kcl.ac.uk
Dr Tullio Lobetti Special Projects Manager, IIS Philosophy of Religion; Hermeneutics and Epistemology; Theory in the Study of Religions; Mysticism. tlobetti@iis.ac.uk
Dr Sharmina Mawani Lecturer, IIS Religion and Identity in Contemporary Society; Muslims in Britain and Canada; Ginanic Tradition smawani@iis.ac.uk
Dr Toby Mayer Research Associate, IIS Sufi & Ismaili Thought; Muslim Philosophy; Qur’anic Hermeneutics tmayer@iis.ac.uk
Dr Gurdofarid Miskinzoda Head of Shi'i Studies Unit and Research Associate, IIS Shi’i Islam; Early Islam; Muslim Historical and Literary Tradition gmiskinzoda@iis.ac.uk
Mr Luay Mohammed Arabic Co-ordinator ISMC/IIS Arabic Language lmohammed@iis.ac.uk
Dr Marodsilton Muborakshoeva Lecturer, IIS Islam and Higher Education mmuborakshoeva@iis.ac.uk
Mr Abdul J. Muhammad Arabic Tutor, IIS Arabic Language muhammadabduljalil@hotmail.com
Dr Anjoom Mukadam Lecturer & Teaching Placements Coordinator, IIS Nizari Ismaili Muslim youth in the UK; second generation Gujaratis in the West; migration and ‘diaspora’; adolescent identity formation; amukadam@iis.ac.uk
Mr Wael Odeh Senior Teaching Fellow, SOAS, University of London Arabic Language wo4@soas.ac.uk
Dr Farid Panjwani Senior Lecturer and Director, Centre for Research and Evaluation in Muslim Education, UCL-IOE Religion, citizenship and education; philosophy of education; education and society; contemporary Muslim thought on education and the teaching and learning of the history of Muslims f.panjwani@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Daryoush Mohammad Poor Research Associate, IIS Shi'i intellectual history; Ismaili Philosophy; Contemporary political theory; Persian literature dpoor@iis.ac.uk
Dr Maryam Rezaee Lecturer, IIS Education; Women and Development; Cultural Studies mrezaee@iis.ac.uk
Dr Anicee Van-Engeland Academic Visitor, University of Oxford Human rights in Iran; Islamic humanitarian law; Refugees’ issues; Terrorism and torture anicee.vanengeland@csls.ox.ac.uk
Dr Saeed Zeydabadi-Nejad Lecturer, IIS Middle Eastern media and culture; Religion and politics; Diasporic media szeydabadi-nejad@iis.ac.uk