

The Institute of Ismaili Studies

Minutes of the Board of Governors Held on 20th October 2023 Meeting No. 06/23

Governors Present: Professor Ali Asani Professor Tashmin Khamis

Dr Nadia Eboo Jamal Mr Naguib Kheraj

Ms Karina Govindji Dr Sharofat Mamadambarova Dr Arif Jamal Dr Shogufa Mir Malekyar

Mr Rahim Karim Mr Habib Motani

Mr Alykhan Kassam Professor Nacim Pak-Shiraz Mr Amyn Kassim-Lakha Professor Farid Panjwani

Governors Absent: Dr Farhad Daftary

Quorum present: Yes

Others present: Professor Zayn Kassam (permanent guest)

Ms Selina Ramji (permanent guest)

Zuleikha Haji, Dr Nazmin Halani, Zahra Jiwa & Alnoor Nathani invited for

item three

Ruth Francis, Shahed Karim & Fayyaz Nurmohamed invited for items four

and five

The meeting was called to order at 10.00 am.

1. Conflicts of interest

- a) There were no declarations of interest over and above the current standing list of interests notified to the Board.
- 2. Director's Report
 - a) The Director's Report for September was noted.
- 3. Board Committee and Working Group Updates
 - a) The submission for September was noted.
- 4. Curriculum Studies Status Update
 - a) Governors appreciated the presentation and update, noting that future resourcing will need to be reconsidered to achieve the desired outcomes.
- 5. AKDN Linkages Working Group paper
 - a) The submission was noted. The Chair of the working group expressed gratitude to all members who contributed to the work over the past two years.
 - b) The work will be taken forward by a management group, led by Professor Kassam.
- 6. AKDN Communications
 - a) Governors appreciated the presentation on the work of the AKDN Communications team, noting the importance of institutionalising the relationship with IIS on shared objectives.

- 7. IIS Event Update
 - b) Mr Kheraj and Ms Ramji shared information about the forthcoming event.
- 8. Update on Strategic Plan
 - c) It was noted that key areas of data gathering and analysis need to be considered alongside the development of the plan.

Selina K Ramji IIS Board Secretary 20th October 2023