نصير الدين الطوسي والفلك

 
 
Special stamp issued in Azerbaijan on the 800th anniversary of Tusi's birthولد نصير الدين الطوسي في شباط 1201 وتوفي في بغداد في حزيران 1274. شهدت حياته وجود شخصيات بارزة مثل روجر بيكون، ابن عربي، موسى بن ميمون، توماس الأقويني، ابن تيمية، وغريغوري كيونيديز وليفي بن جيرسون. حصل الطوسي في حياته على لقب الشرف ’الخواجة‘ (الباحث والمعلم المتميز). وحتى بعد وفاته، استمر تأثيره في مجالات متنوعة مثل الأخلاقيات، والفلسفة والرياضيات والمنطق والفلك، وأصبح يشار إليه بألقاب ’أستاذ البشر‘ و’المعلم الثالث‘(بعد أرسطو والفارابي).
 
 
شّجعه والده عندما كان صبياً صغيراً لدراسة جميع "فروع المعرفة والإستماع إلى آراء أتباع الطوائف والمذاهب المختلفة"؛ وهكذا، سافر الطوسي بعيداً ليتعلم على يد معلمين من إختياره. أكمل الطوسي دراساته، وحصل على رعاية الحكام الإسماعيليين في آلموت، حيث قضى سنوات عديدة يؤلف بعضاً من أهم أعماله. كما أشار إلى ذلك ريجب: "... أُنجزت العديد من أكثر أعمال الطوسي الأصيلة والإبداعية أثناء خدمته لناصر الدين محتشم [رئيس الإسماعيليين] في قوهستان (حوالي العام 630 هـ/ 1232 أو 1233 م- حوالي العام 643 هـ/ 1245 أو 1246 م).
 
 
Page from a manuscript of Birjandi's commentary (Sharh) on Tusi's Tadhkira, dated 1673-74 CE from the collection of the Institute of Ismaili Studies, Ms. 596من بين هذه الأعمال ’أخلاق الناصري‘، ’الرسالة المعينية‘ وتتمتها ’حل المشكلات المعينية‘ والتي يجد فيها المرء نماذج نصير الدين الجديدة عن القمر والكواكب، وكتابه في المنطق ’أساس الإقتباس‘. وكذلك، عمل على التعليق على عمل ابن سينا ​​’الإشارات والتنبيهات‘ خلال هذه السنوات. يتابع ريجب: "... بعد الذهاب إلى آلموت (حوالي العام 643 أو 644 هـ / 1245، 1246 أو 1247 م)، يبدو أن الطوسي كرس نفسه إلى حد كبير لتحرير الأعمال العلمية اليونانية والإسلامية المبكرة. وتعود العديد من كتبه التي تدعى ’الكتب المتوسطة‘، بالإضافة إلى منشوراته عن ’المجسطي‘ و’العناصر‘، إلى هذه الفترة." [المصدر: ف. ج. ريجب، ’مذكرات نصير الدين الطوسي في علم الفلك‘(’التذكرة في علم الحياة‘)، المجلد الأول (نيويورك ، 1993)، صفحة 21.]
 

مع سقوط آلموت عام 1256 م، أصبح الطوسي مستشاراً للحاكم المغولي هولاكو ونُصّب ’وزيراً‘ فيما بعد، وأسندت إليه مهمة الإشراف على ’الوقف‘ (الأوقاف). ومن ضمن الفعاليات الرئيسية أثناء إقامة الطوسي مع المغول كان بناء مرصد في أذربيجان في المراغة تحت إشرافه، والذي شارك في نشاطاته وأبحاثه العلمية العديد من العلماء المعروفين البارزين في ذلك الوقت، بما في ذلك علماء فلك من الصين. وفي 1274 م، ترك الطوسي المراغة مع مجموعة من طلابه إلى بغداد، حيث توفي في نفس العام.

قدم نصير الدين الطوسي مساهمة عظيمة إلى التاريخ الفكري لمرحلة ما بعد القرن الثالث عشر للإسلام، وأصبحت الكثير من أعماله المعيار في مجموعة متنوعة من التخصصات حتى العصور الحديثة. من بين مؤلفاته في علم الفلك ’التذكرة في علم الحياة‘ والذي حاول فيه الطوسي تقديم إعتبار متماسك وموحد لعلم الفلك ليكون مفيداً بالنسبة للطلاب في هذا المجال وكذلك القراء غير المتخصصين. لقد جاء كتابه ’التذكرة‘ بعد واحد من أعماله الفارسية، ’الرسالة المعينية‘، الذي كتبه خلال الفترة المبكرة من إقامته في المعقل الإسماعيلي في قوهستان.

كان لكتاب ’التذكرة‘ تأثير هائل على التاريخ اللاحق لعلم الفلك؛ ويمثل الكم الكبير من النسخ المخطوطة لهذا الكتاب فضلاً عن العدد الكبير من التعليقات المكتوبة عنه شهادة صامتة عن هذا التأثير. ومن المعروف أنه يوجد على الأقل أربعة عشر تعليقاً وشرحاً هامة عنه. تناقش بعض هذه التعليقات المسائل التي تطرق إليها الطوسي، وجعلها أعمالاً أصيلة للغاية تقدم حلولاً جديدة لموضوعات مثل العلاقة بين النظرية والملاحظة، ودور الفيزياء في علم الفلك. أحد أمثلة هذه التعليقات كتاب لعبد العلي محمد بن حسين البيرجندي بعنوان ’شرح التذكرة‘، والذي اكتمل في عام 1507-1508 م. توجد مخطوطة، مؤرخة 1673-1674 م، من تعليق البيرجندي في مجموعة مقتنيات معهد الدراسات الإسماعيلية.

Set of three stamps issued in Iran on the 700th anniversary of Tusi's deathونرى أيضاً تأثير أعمال الطوسي الفلكية في ثقافات خارج حدود الإسلام. وقد ترجمت أعماله بالعربية: تحرير ’المجسطي لبطليموس‘ وتحرير ’عناصر إقليدس‘، إلى اللغة السنسكريتية في عام 1720 و 1730. والأهم من ذلك ترجمة باللغة السنسكريتية لجزء من تعليق بيرجندي على كتاب ’التذكرة‘. لم تشمل هذه الترجمة، والتي أنجزت على يد العالم السنسكريتي نياناشوكا، كامل الكتاب وإنما الفصل الحادي عشر فقط من الكتاب الثاني، والذي تعامل فيه نصير الدين الطوسي مع جهاز يسمى ’ مزدوجة الطوسي‘ وما له من تطبيقات. كما ويمكن الكشف أيضاً عن تأثير كتاب ’التذكرة‘ في الغرب، حيث قدمت البحوث التي أجريت مؤخراً أدلة على إتصالات جرت في بين أواخر القرون الوسطى الإسلامية وعصر النهضة الغربي فيما يتعلق في علوم الفلك.
 

فعلى سبيل المثال، نجد ’ مزدوجة الطوسي‘ ﻓﻲ كتاب كوبرنيكوس ’ﺩﻭﺭﺍﻥ ﺍﻷﺠﺭﺍﻡ ﺍﻟﺴﻤﺎﻭﻴﺔ‘، وفي مخطوط فلكي آخر، الذي كان في إيطاليا عام 1475 م ​​، ويشمل دراسة عن نظرية الكوكبية التي تحتوي على رسومات تخطيطية ’لمزدوجة الطوسي‘ ونموذج القمر. إن دور وتأثير نصير الدين الطوسي في تاريخ علم الفلك يبقى ثابتاً مهما كانت نتيجة النقاش بشأن العلاقة بين علم الفلك في الإسلام وعصر النهضة الغربي.

جديد معهد الدراسات الإسماعيلية 2010.

يقدم هذا المقال تاريخاً إعلامياً مختصراً عن حياة نصير الدين الطوسي، وتعليمه وعمله. قدم نصير الدين الطوسي مساهمة عظيمة إلى التاريخ الفكري لمرحلة ما بعد القرن الثالث عشر للإسلام، وأصبحت الكثير من أعماله المعيار في مجموعة متنوعة من التخصصات حتى العصور الحديثة. وخصوصاً، المقالة التي تركز على عمل...

Lifelong Learning Articles

Nasir al-Din al-Tusi and Astronomy

 
Special stamp issued in Azerbaijan on the 800th anniversary of Tusi's birth.Nasir al-Dininfo-icon al-Tusi was born in February 1201 and died in Baghdad in June 1274. His lifetime witnessed the existence of such luminaries as Roger Bacon, Ibn ‘Arabi, Moses Maimonides, Thomas Aquinas, Ibn Taymiyya, Gregory Chioniades and Levi ben Gerson. Tusi acquired the honorific title of Khwaja (distinguished scholar and teacher) in his lifetime. After his death, his influence continued in fields as diverse as ethics, philosophy, mathematics, logic and astronomy, and he came to be referred to as ustadh al-bashar (teacher of mankind) and al-mu‘allim al-thalith (the third teacher, that is, after Aristotle and al-Farabi).
 
As a young boy, Nasir al-Din was encouraged by his father to study all “the branches of knowledge and to listen to the opinions of the followers of various sects and doctrines”; as such, Tusi travelled widely to study with teachers of his choice. His studies completed, Tusi found patronage with the Ismaili rulers of Alamutinfo-icon, where he spent many years composing some of his most important works. As pointed out by Ragep: “... many of Tusi’s most creative and original work was composed while in the service of Nasir al-Din Muhtasham [head of the Ismailis] in Quhistan (ca. 630 AH /1232 or 1233 CE – ca. 643 AH / 1245 or 1246 CE).
 
Page from a manuscript of Birjandi's commentary (Sharh) on Tusi's Tadhkira, dated 1673-74 CE from the collection of the Institute of Ismaili Studies, Ms. 596.
Among these are the Akhlaq-i Nasiri, the Risalah-i Mu‘iniyya and its sequel the Hall-i Mushkilat-i Mu‘iniyya in which one finds Nasir al-Din’s new models for the moon and planets, and the logical work Asasinfo-icon al-iqtibas. Furthermore, he worked on the commentary to Ibn Sina’s Al-Isharat wa-’l-tanbihat during these years.” Ragep continues: “... after going to Alamut (ca. 643 or 644 AH / 1245, 1246 or 1247 CE), Tusi seems to have devoted himself in large measure to working on his recensions of Greek and early Muslim scientific works. Many of the editions of the so-called ‘Middle Books’, in addition to his editions of the Almagest and Elements, date from this period.” [Source: F. J. Ragep, Nasir al-Din al-Tusi’s Memoir on Astronomy (al-Tadhkirainfo-icon fi ‘ilminfo-icon al-hay’a), vol. 1 (New York, 1993), page 21.]
 
With the fall of Alamut in 1256 CE, Tusi became an advisor to the Mongol ruler Hulegu and was later made a wazir and placed in charge of waqf (religious endowments). Among the major events of Tusi’s sojourn with the Mongols was the building of an observatory in Azerbaijan at Maragha under his direction, where the most renowned scientists of the time, including astronomers from China, participated in research and scientific observations. In 1274 CE, Tusi left Maragha with a group of his students for Baghdad, where he died in the same year.
 
Nasir al-Din al-Tusi’s contribution to the post-13th century intellectual history of Islam is monumental, and many of his works became the standard in a variety of disciplines up to modern times. Among his works on astronomy is al-Tadhkira fi ‘ilm al-hay’a (‘Memoir on the Science of Astronomy’), in which Tusi attempts to give a coherent and unified account of astronomy that would be useful both for students of the subject as well as non-specialists. The Tadhkira is modeled after one of Tusi’s Persian works, the Risalah-i Mu‘iniyya, which he wrote during the early period of his residence at the Ismaili stronghold in Quhistan.
 
The Memoir had an enormous influence on the subsequent history of astronomy; the significant number of extant manuscript copies of this text as well as the large number of commentaries written on the Tadhkira are silent testimony to this. At least fourteen commentaries and super-commentaries are known. Some of these commentaries discuss matters that are barely touched upon by Tusi, making them highly original works offering new solutions to topics such as the relation of theory and observation, and the role of physics in astronomy. One such commentary is that of ‘Abd al-‘Ali b. Muhammad b. Husayn al-Birjandi, entitled Sharh al-Tadhkira, which was completed in 1507-08 CE. A manuscript, dated 1673-74 CE, of al-Birjandi’s commentary is in the collection of The Institute of Ismaili Studies.
Set of three stamps issued in Iran on the 700th anniversary of Tusi's death.
 
The influence of Tusi’s astronomical works was also felt in cultures beyond the borders of Islam. His Arabic recensions of Ptolemy’s Almagest and Euclid’s Elements were translated into Sanskrit in the 1720s and 1730s. Of even greater interest is the Sanskrit translation of part of Birjandi’s commentary on the Tadhkira. This translation, by the Sanskrit scholar Nayanasukha, was not of the entire text, but only the eleventh chapter of the second book, in which Nasir al-Din al-Tusi deals with the device called the ‘Tusi couple’ and its application. The impact of the Tadhkira can also be detected in the West, and recent research has provided evidence for contacts between late medieval Islamic and Renaissance astronomy.

For example, the ‘Tusi couple’ was introduced by Copernicus in his De revolutionibus, and another astronomical manuscript, which was in Italy by 1475 CE, includes a treatise   dealing with planetary theory that contains diagrams of a ‘Tusi couple’ and lunar model. Whatever the outcome of the debate concerning the interrelationship between Islamic and Renaissance astronomy, the role and influence of Nasir al-Din al-Tusi in the history of astronomy seems secure.

 

This is an edited version of an article that appeared in the IIS update in 2010.

This article provides a short informative history of Nasir al-Din...